Skate-turion!! This weekend June 8th-9th 2013

Skate-Turion posterAs Canberra celebrates its centenary year, SKATE-TURION is about to hit the Nation’s Capital during the June long weekend. To celebrate the centenary Canberra Roller Derby League (CRDL), in conjunction with Scope Mount Stromlo, will be hosting a roller derby tournament at Tuggeranong Southern Cross Stadium. Billed as Canberra’s biggest battle in 100 years, top teams will be converging from Sydney, Adelaide, Perth and Brisbane, the competition will be fierce.

The tournament structure itself sets a precedent for roller derby in Canberra. The 2-day event will see 12 teams compete against each other across 3 divisions. Closed heats run on Saturday 8th will establish which teams will progress through to the finals on Sunday. Tickets for all finals on Sunday 9th will be available to the public.

Derby fans new and old can come to Southern Cross Stadium and see for themselves some of Australia’s best skaters take to the track.

Canberra will be well represented at each level, with the Vice City Rollers A and B squads looking to dominate the two top divisions. The Vice City Rollers are the representative team of CRDL, made up of skaters from across all of the four home teams. The VCRs have become a force to be reckoned with, dominating the Eastern Region Roller Derby Tournament in 2011 and 2012 and placing sixth nationally at the 2012 Great Southern Slam in Adelaide. The Capital Brawlers have been training hard and is also looking very strong going into the C division. The Brawlers are the CRDL potluck team, also made up from talented skaters from the league.

The visiting leagues are ready for the challenge, a battle 100 years in the making! The other teams fighting it out will include: the Adelaide Roller Derby AdelaidiesNorth Brisbane Rollers Brawl StarsPerth Roller Derby, the Sydney Roller Derby League Assassins and Varsity Roller Derby. A potluck team will fill a gap in the C division and will be made up of skaters from: Blue Mountains Roller Derby, Hawkesbury/Hills Area Roller Derby, Sydney Roller Derby League and Wollongong Illawarra Roller Derby

Tickets to this exciting interstate tournament are on sale now through Oztix.

Event details: Skate-turion – Canberra’s Biggest Battle in 100 years
Date: Saturday 8th June – heats (family and friends only), Sunday 9th June – finals (open to the general public)
Time: All day pass 10am – 8pm; Double header finals 4pm – 8pm
Tickets: All day pass - $40+bf (adults), $10+bf (children); Double header finals - $25+bf (adults), $5+bf (children); children under 5 free.
Venue: Southern Cross Stadium, Cnr Cowlishaw St and Athllon Drive, Tuggeranong

Visit our scoreboard page for up-to-the-minute Skate-turion results!